Essay: Tricked and Exposed by Carolyn Turgeon

Tricked and Exposed

by Carolyn Turgeon for Powells

rainvillage.jpeg” When my first novel, Rain Village, was published this fall, one of the hardest things for me was having to talk about it. I had no idea it would be so difficult. I have been asked about what is real and what isn’t, who inspired certain characters, how much of the main character is me. For years I actually believed I was making up the characters and places out of thin air. I am not four feet tall with hands as small as plums, like my narrator Tessa. I have barely ever been on a farm. I have never traveled with a circus or flown on the trapeze. Even the thought of swinging back and forth above a net gives me a headache.”

Read full essay here 

Published in: on December 13, 2006 at 9:03 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wordspal.wordpress.com/2006/12/13/essay-tricked-and-exposed-by-carolyn-turgeon/trackback/

