Article: How Dickens Did Me In

How Dickens Did Me In

by Simon Gray for Guardian Unlimited Books (Dec. 11, 2006)

“Decades ago, when Peter Hall was running the National Theatre, he said he’d like to commission a play from me – had I anything in mind? I said yes: I’d longed for years to write a sort of psychological and theatrical epic about Dickens, but had kept postponing it because, even if I managed to write it, I couldn’t conceive of its ever being produced. It would require an enormous cast and complicated sets, and would therefore be very expensive. Hall said the National would be able to provide the casts and sets, and encouraged me to take a crack at it, adding that he might find it possible to direct it himself.”

Read full article here 

Published in: on December 12, 2006 at 9:22 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wordspal.wordpress.com/2006/12/12/article-how-dickens-did-me-in/trackback/

