List: Writers Pick Their 2006 Favorites

Take a Leaf Out of Their Books

research by Ginny Hooker for Guardian Unlimited Books (Nov. 25, 2006)

“Monica Ali
I’ve spent far too much time this year reading kitchen books. One that I particularly enjoyed was Anthony Bourdain’s collection, The Nasty Bits (Bloomsbury), especially his commentaries on his own essays in which he tends to say: “I think I had my head up my ass when I wrote this thing.” Another was Molecular Gastronomy by Hervé This (Columbia University Press), which brings the instruments and experimental techniques of the laboratory into the kitchen. In fiction, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun (Fourth Estate) was outstanding.”

Read full article here

Published in: on November 28, 2006 at 1:49 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wordspal.wordpress.com/2006/11/28/list-writers-pick-their-2006-favorites/trackback/

