Review: BEYOND WORDS by John Humphrys

beyond3.jpg

Beyond Words by John Humphrys
by John Crace for Guardian Unlimited Books

“Lost for Words was my first and, I thought, my last book on English. But Lynne Truss got away with a follow-up on how the country is going to the dogs, so I reckoned I could too.

The prevailing wisdom about language is that anything goes. Yet language reveals the way we live now; it is a mirror on our culture and we will only be able to recognise what it shows us if we know how words work and don’t commit crass mistakes like spelling my name as Humphreys or splitting infinitives. My conclusion? Bring back grammar.”

Read full review here.

Check out:
John Humphrys Radio program on BBC.

Published in: on November 14, 2006 at 1:16 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://wordspal.wordpress.com/2006/11/14/review-beyond-words-by-john-humphrys/trackback/

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

